AMR Action Fund appoints nine new SAB members

AMR Action Fund appoints nine new SAB members

  • 04/02/2022

The AMR Action Fund has named several experts as members of its Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). The recently established board holds in total nine independent members, who will support with evaluating the scientific merit, patient benefit, and public health impact of all AMR Action Fund activities, such as potential investments into clinical-stage companies.

The Fund, whose members include representatives of leading pharmaceutical companies, the Wellcome Trust, the European Investment Bank, and philanthropic foundations, will invest approximately $1 billion over the coming years into different companies, with the long-term goal of bringing to market up to four new antibiotics. As the AMR Action Fund prepares to make its first investments, the completion of the advisory board is an important milestone.

“The experts on our Scientific Advisory Board bring diverse perspectives and extensive experience in antibiotic development and global health that will bolster our diligence efforts and help prioritize treatments that deliver the greatest benefits to patients,” said Henry Skinner, CEO of the AMR Action Fund. “I am thrilled to welcome these esteemed individuals and look forward to working together on identifying solutions to one of the biggest public health threats of our time.”

The following experts will be part of the SAB:

  • Donald Anderson, MD: Former Academic Infectious Disease Investigator and Pharmaceutical-Biotech Executive; Current Consultant to the VP Research & Innovation at Michigan State University (based in Austin, Texas)
  • Patricia Bradford, Ph.D.: Antimicrobial Development Specialists, LLC (based in New York)
  • Erin M. Duffy, Ph.D.: Chief of Research & Development, CARB-X (based in Boston)
  • Stephan Harbarth, MD, MS: Professor, Geneva University Hospitals’ (HUG) Divisions of Infectious Diseases and Infection Control (Geneva)
  • Katie Laessig, MD: Senior Vice President, Global Regulatory Affairs, Antios Therapeutics (based in Washington, D.C.)
  • Norio Ohmagari, MD, Ph.D.: Director, AMR Clinical Reference Center; Director, Disease Control and Prevention Center of the NCGM (Tokyo)
  • David Paterson, MBBS: Director, The University of Queensland Centre for Clinical Research (based in Brisbane, Australia)
  • Lloyd Payne, D.Phil.: CEO of ArrePath Inc (based in Manchester, England/Princeton, N.J.)
  • Valeria Gigante, Ph.D.: Team Lead at the World Health Organization in the AMR Division (based in Geneva)

Read more here: